Ndidi out, but Osimhen leads Nigeria list for CAR as Rohr also hands debut call up to Rangers star

The German tactician has released a 23-man squad for the Super Eagles back-back 2022 World Cup qualifiers against the Central African Republic

Kelechi Iheanacho and Victor Osimhen lead Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the 2022 World Cup qualifiers against the Central African Republic next month.

Nigeria take on Les Fauves in a doubleheader encounter, knowing a win in both games will all but guarantee their place in the final playoff round.

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has named a list of 23 players for the two games, with the in-form Osimhen and Leicester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho headlining the list.

Rohr also handed a debut call-up to Rangers star Calvin Ughelumba Bassey. The 21-year-old was born in England, but he is eligible to play for the three-time African champions through his parents.

He has already made seven appearances for Steven Gerrard’s men this season, providing two assists in the League Cup.

Meanwhile, his Rangers teammates, Joe Aribo and Leon Balogun, who are among the key players in the team, have also been invited.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  See After Party Photos From Dj Don Flash Birthday Party || See Some Exciting Moment From The Event | @9jaupdate247

Also, Hoffenheim star Kevin Akpoguma is back after missing the clash against Liberia and Cape Verde due to a positive coronavirus test.

However, Leicester City’s star Wilfred Ndidi is not included as he is currently injured, according to reports from the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

Watford’s Oghenekaro Etebo also misses out due to an unspecified injury. It gives Malmo’s Innocent Bonke another chance to impress.

Meanwhile, Chidera Ejuke keeps his spot while captain Ahmed Musa is also in the squad.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Ughelumba (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE  Gernot Rohr’s New Contract Will Be Ready Next Week – NFF President

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

The first leg of the encounter takes place on October 7 at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, with the return leg set for October 10 in Douala.

The Super Eagles currently lead their group with six points from two games.